Waterworks Visual Arts Center

Providing diverse opportunities in the arts for all people through exhibitions, education, & outreach programs.

5th Grade ARTstops

 
Waterworks Visual Arts Center continues our partnership with Rowan Salisbury public, private, independent and home schools to provide 
the 5th Grade ARTstops program for the 2018-19 school year. 
Scheduled dates and ARTstops reminders are listed below.

**5th Grade Private, Independent and/or Home schools' classes should call to schedule their ARTstops. 

5th Grade ARTstops are provided free of charge though the generosity of the
Margaret C. Woodson Foundation. 

 
ARTstop Reminders
  • Please plan to arrive at your scheduled time, 9:30 am for the first session and 11:30 am for the second session. We are unable to accommodate early arrivals. Busses should drop students off at the front entrance of Waterworks. Drivers should reference the attached Parking Map to locate available parking.

 

  • The maximum number of students Waterworks can accommodate per ARTstop is 50; students will be divided into two groups or classes upon arrival at Waterworks.

 

  • Each ARTstop is 1.5 hours. The ARTstop includes a 45-minute docent lead tour of the professional galleries and art center, and a 45-minute hands-on art activity relating to the current exhibition. The art projects and tours meet the Common Core Curriculum course of study for visual arts education.

 

  • You will receive a confirmation email one week prior to your school’s scheduled ARTstop. Please respond promptly to confirm your attendance and exact number of students.

 

  • When inclement weather impacts the Rowan-Salisbury Schools; they are closed or delayed, the ARTstops for that day will be cancelled. Waterworks will contact the school to reschedule the ARTstops.

 
 
 
October
Wednesday, October 10, 2018     China Grove Elementary     9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, October 16, 2018          Millbridge Elementary        9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Wednesday, October 17, 2018     Enochville Elementary        9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, Ocotber 23, 2018          Cleveland Elementary        9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00

November
Wednesday, November 7, 2018      Faith Elementary                9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, November 13, 2018        Granite Quarry Elementary   9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Wednesday, November 14, 2018    Mount Ulla Elementary         9:30-11:00 

December
Tuesday, December 4, 2018       Knollwood Elementary    9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, December 11, 2018     Rockwell Elementary      9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00

 
 
 
 
ARTstops Curriculum 
The Threads of Time 
October-December 
TEACHER / STUDENT STUDY GUIDES

 
 
 
 
No ARTstops scheduled in January
 
February
Tuesday, February 19, 2019         Isenburg Elementary          9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Wednesday, February 20, 2019     Hanford Dole Elementary   9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, February 26, 2019         Overton Elementary           9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00

March
Tuesday, March 5, 2019            Bostian Elementary         9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, March 12, 2019          Woodleaf Elementary       9:30-11:00 
Wednesday, March 13, 2019      Morgan Elementary         9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Wednesday, March 20, 2019      Koontz Elementary          9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00

April
Tuesday, April 2, 2019             Shive Elementary              9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Wednesday, April 3, 2019        Hurley Elementary             9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Tuesday, April 9, 2019             Landis Elementary             9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00
Wednesday, April 10, 2019      North Rowan Elementary     9:30-11:00 and 11:30-1:00

 
 
 
 
Parking Information