Waterworks Visual Arts Center

Providing diverse opportunities in the arts for all people through exhibitions, education, & outreach programs.

Dare To Imagine


The Dare to Imagine Award is presented annually and is made possible through a grant from Susan and Edward Norvell.
This special award, bearing a cash scholarship, honors one Rowan County graduating senior whose artwork most exemplifies the creative potential of the human spirit, heart, and hand.

Congratulations to our 2018 Dare To Imagine Winner

JC Carson High School
Dr. Mark Riley, Art Specialist

Victoria Lizett Amaro Zavala will be one of the exhibiting artists for the Summer Exhibition opening on June 2, 2018.

The presentation of the Dare To Imagine Award will be June 8, 2018 at 6:15 pm during the Opening Reception.

Past Winners of the Dare To Imagine Award
2003  -  Trevor Messinger - Salisbury High School
2004  -  Jeffrey Yacevich - West Rowan High School
2005  -  Emily Bartsch - West Rowan High School
2006  -  Laura Ritchie - West Rowan High School
2007  -  Logan Childress - South Rowan High School
2008  -  Shannon Elrod - East Rowan High School
2009  -  Hannah Thompson - J.C. Carson High School
2010  -  Michelle Casper -  J.C. Carson High School
2011  -  R. Dean Crouch - East Rowan High School
2012  -  Courtney Quaintance - West Rowan High School
2013  -  Kaitlin Crouch  -  East Rowan High School
2014  -  Jordan VanVoorhis  -  J.C. Carson High School
2015  -  Isabel Hartsell  -  West Rowan High School
2016  -  Eli Helms -  J.C. Carson High School
2017  -  Catherine Traina  -  J.C. Carson High School

2018 Dare To Imagine

Submission Deadline:  March 28, 2018,  4:00 pm
Winner Announcement:  Week of April 9, 2018
Exhibition:  June 2 - August 31, 2018

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES (delivery deadline:  March 28, 2018 by 4:00 pm)

Waterworks Visual Arts Center is pleased to announce the 2018 Dare to Imagine Award review process.  The Dare to Imagine Award, now in its sixteenth year, is made possible through a gift by Mr. and Mrs. Edward Norvell, valued patrons of the Waterworks and the cultural community at large.


The award is presented to one Rowan County graduating high school senior who meets the requirements of the following mission statement:

In recognition of the importance of art in the life of our community, the Dare to Imagine Award in the amount of $1,000 is presented by the Waterworks Visual Arts Center to the Rowan County graduating senior whose artwork most exemplifies the creative potential of the human spirit, heart, and hand.


Teachers interested in submitting student portfolios for review should deliver the portfolios to the Waterworks on or before Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by 4pm

Please be sure each portfolio is labeled with the following:

  • The art teacher’s name, email address, and preferred contact telephone number 
  • The student’s contact information along with the name of their parent/guardian (sealed in an envelope)
  • The names of the principal and assistant principal for curriculum, email addresses, school name, and full mailing address
  • The above contact information will be used to inform all parties of the student’s portfolio submission for consideration of this prestigious award  
  • The portfolios will undergo a blind review by the WVAC Exhibitions Committee to dismiss any concern of bias.  
  • Announcement of the winner will be made by telephone/email to the student, then the art teacher, followed by a broadcast email to all high school art teachers and high school principals the week of April 9, 2018

The portfolio of labeled original works should include:

  • 4-6 pieces of the student’s strongest 2-dimensional and/or 3-dimensional work
  • A sealed envelope adhered to the top of the portfolio containing a typed list of works with the Student’s Name, School, and Art Teacher. Each individual piece submitted should list the Title, Size, Medium, and Year created.  The works need not be mounted or matted. However, if the student is deemed the award winner, any previously framed/matted/mounted works will be carefully dismantled and returned to the student. Waterworks will custom mat/frame/mount all works for the exhibition.
  • Non-winning portfolios should be collected by the art teacher April 17-21, 2018 during regular weekday gallery hours.
  • The Award Recipient’s art teacher will receive new Guidelines


The award-winning student’s portfolio of work will be featured in a one-person exhibition at the Waterworks Visual Arts Center June 2 – August 31, 2018.  The opening reception for the Dare to Imagine exhibition will be held on Friday, June 8, 2018, 6-8 pm and will coincide with the four professional exhibitions.  The opening reception is free and open to the general public.  The Award Winner will be presented his/her certificate and check at this time. We strongly encourage the attendance of the student’s family, teacher(s), and school administrators during the reception to acknowledge the accomplishment of the student and enjoy the admiring comments that Waterworks patrons enthusiastically share. 

Questions? Please contact Jackie Black, Education Coordinator, at 704.636.1882 or email education@waterworks.org